Lagos APC Primaries: Adebule,Gbajabiamila, Ogbara, Ogundipe Scale Through.

…..Obanikoro Rejects Result

….Most State Assembly Members Defeated

Lagos West Senatorial District

Former Lagos State Deputy Governor, Dr Idiat Oluranti Adebule has won Lagos West Senatorial District slot of the All Progressives Congress.

Dr. Adebule scored four hundred and twenty-four delegate- votes; Senator Musliu Obanikoro polled one hundred and nineteen delegates votes to come second while Dr Kayode Opeifa came third with five votes.

The primary Election which was held at Agege Stadium was peaceful amidst tight security.

Gbajabiamila Wins Surulere 1 Ticket For Historic Sixth Term

In a similar vein, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila was elected unopposed, for Surulere 1 Federal Constituency ticket.

The primary election took place at the Teslim Balogun Stadium, Surulere on Friday with a total of 30 delegates present who all voted for Gbajabiamila.

Mr. Gbajabiamila, has been the member representing the federal constituency since 2003, and seeking to return to the House for the sixth time.

His constituents, said the Speaker has been providing excellent representation to the people of Surulere 1 since they first elected him to the Green Chamber , having initiated many people-oriented programmes and empowerment outreaches that changed their lives.

They stated that from June 2019, when he became the Speaker, till date, Mr. Gbajabiamila had doubled his efforts in bringing infrastructural development not just to Surulere, but also to other parts of Lagos State.

One of the delegates, Chief Mrs Bamidele Hussein, said Mr Gbajabiamila deserved the peoples backing because of all he has done for the constituency.

“This is in appreciation of what he has done for us in Surulere. He brought a lot: empowerment, free medical services¸ reconstruction of many roads with solar lights, building and renovation of schools, supply of educational materials, both electronic and others, to students and teachers, and he equipped existing hospitals and built new ones. Look, he has done a lot and has positively touched the lives of all in Surulere beyond our expectations. Surulere loves him,” she said.

Kosofe Constituency.

Still in the House of Representatives Primary Elections, Hajia Kafilat Ogbara emerged flagbearer of the party to represent Kosofe Constituency.

Hajia Ogbara who is National coordinator of Women in Nigeria for Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, won the contest which was monitored by the Independent National Electoral Commission.

A former commissioner of Local Government Service Commission at Ikosi, Mr. Fuad Oki said Mrs. Ogbara defeated the incumbent, Mr. Rotimi Agunsoye who is currently representing the constituency from Kosofe, and other contestants.

Speaking to the newsmen shortly after she was declared the winner, Hajia Ogbara who commended the party leaders for the support, described her victory as a victory for democracy.

She assured the people of her constituency that they should expect a credible voice, quality representation and services if given opportunity at the polls next year.

Oshodi Isolo constituency 2

Meanwhile, a member of the House of Representatives representing Oshodi Isolo constituency 2, Mr. Ganiyu Johnson also secured ticket of the All Progressives Congress for the second time to slug it out with other political parties at next year’s poll.

Mr. Johnson scored thirty delegate- votes to defeat former Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Mr. Kehinde Gbamigbetan and other aspirants.

Speaking to newsmen after he was declared winner at the party Primary Election, Mr. Johnson appreciated the delegates for counting him worthy to be given another opportunity to represent the party at next year’s elections.

Mr.Johnson told his teeming supporters who thronged to his office to celebrate the victory with him that all contestants are winners and the supporters should start mobilizing citizens ahead of the polls.


In Mushin, the APC Primary Election into the House of Representatives at New City Primary School, Palm Avenue, Mushin was peaceful, free, and fair.

INEC representative, security agents including, Nigeria Police Force, Civil Defence, Lagos Neighborhood Safety Corps monitored the exercise.

At the end of the exercise, a former Special Adviser to Governor Babajide Sanwo-olu on Transportation, Mr. Oluwatoyin Fayinka won the party ticket to House of Representatives with eighteen votes while immediate former Publicity Secretary of APC, in Lagos State, Mr. Seye Oladejo polled eight votes, while Bolaji Yusuf Ayinla who is currently representing the Constituency has two votes and Mr. Ramon Taiwo has one vote.

Assessing the process, the Party Chairman in Mushin Local Government, Alhaji Shitta- bey, thanked all the electoral officers for a peaceful primary election conducted in the area.

It was another upset in Apapa, as, a former Chairman of Apapa Iganmu Local Council Development Area, Dr. Adedayo Adesola samuel defeated the incumbent member of the House of Representatives from Apapa constituency, Mr. Mufutau Egberongbe at the party Primary Election held in Apapa area of the state.

Meanwhile, the Chairman House Committee on Finance in the House of Representatives, Mr. James Abiodun Faleke also emerged winner of the All Progressives Congress primary election for the House of Representatives in Ikeja Federal Constituency.

He emerged winner at the primary election conducted yesterday at the Oluwaleyimu Sports Centre, Ikeja.

At the end of the election, Mr.Faleke polled all the forty-seven delegates votes cast out of the fifty delegates accredited for the exercise.

The Chairman of the Primary Election Committee for the Constituency, Comrade Ewuoso Oladunjoye declared Mr Faleke winner and duly handed over the signed election result to him.

At State Assembly Level

Meanwhile, Some Lagos State House of Assembly members lost their bid to return to the house.

At the Oshodi Isolo constituency 1, the the primary election was held at the Oshodi Isolo Council Secretariat, and a former Chairman of Agege Local Government Area, Mr. Stephen Ogundipe defeated the incumbent member representing the Constituency, Mr Olushola Sokunle.

Mr. Ogundipe scored twenty votes while Mr. Sokunle polled four votes.

In a related development, Mr. Jude Idimogu representing Oshodi-Isolo Constituency 2 lost to the son of a former Chairman of the party in the state, Mr. Ladi Ajomale.

Mr. Ajomale scored thirty votes while Mr. Jude polled zero vote.

Earlier, the son of the Minister of Information and Culture, Mr. Folajimi Mohammed representing Ikeja State Constituency 1 had also lost his seat to Mr. Seyi Lawal in the primary election.

Mr Lawal who is a former Legislative Leader of Onigbongbo Local Council Development Area, Seyi Lawal got fifteen delegates votes while Folajimi could only muster nine votes.

Similarly, the hope of the member representing Amuwo Odofin Constituency 1, Mojisola Macaulay, was dashed as she lost the All Progressives Congress ticket to Mr. Olaitan Folorunso, after she got just four votes against
Mr. Folorunso’s twelve delegates votes.

The third contestant for the seat, Eniola Adesina Ado, also garnered four delegates’ votes

The Deputy Speaker of the Lagos State House of Assembly, Mr. Wasiu Eshinlokun-Sanni has emerged the flagbearer of the All Progressives Congress for Lagos Central Senatorial District in next year’s election.

Mr. Eshinlokun-Sanni polled one hundred and eighty-five delegate -votes while his closest contender,
Ambassador Demola Seriki scored ninety-seven votes and Mr. Akeem Apatira got twenty-two Votes.

The returning Officer for the party Primary Election, Mr. Tolani Sule said three hundred and eight delegates were accredited out of three hundred and ten delegates expected to cast their votes.

Share this article

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on email

Leave a Reply